Divide to Understand
In order to understand the Bible, one has to divide the Scriptures.  At first glance this may seem a strange remark, but the Bible says in 2 Timothy 2:15 that a good student of the Word must learn to “Rightly divide the Scriptures”.&...
Tue, 31-May-2016
The Narrow Door

“Strive to enter through the narrow gate, for many, I say to you, will seek to enter and will not be able.”
Luke 13:24

Heaven can only be entered through a narrow door? Have you found Heaven’s narrow door? He didn’t say “enter through one of the narrow doors.” He spoke of THE narrow door. Othe...

09h30 - 29 May 2016
Blessed in Christ
by Rev. Warren Watermeyer
Part 1
LAT: -33.946457
LON: 25.523686
Church Office hours
Monday - Friday: 08h00 - 17h00
St Marks Campus - Corner Boshoff Street & Cape Road, Framesby, Port Elizabeth, South Africa
You are here:Home > Resources > Bulletins
Bulletins
Filter:
Message for the week
Divide to Understand

In order to understand the Bible, one has to divide the Scriptures.  At first glance this may seem a strange remark, but the Bible says in 2 Timothy 2:15 that a good student of the Word must learn to “Rightly divide the Scriptures”.  If the Bible is a believers manual for life, then it’s imperative for us to know how to read the manual.

The Bible is divided into the Old and New Testament.  The New Testament is divided into books for Jewish believers who expected the Kingdom’s arrival on earth and the letters to the Christian assemblies.  There is a definite distinction between Israel’s hope and the Christian hope.  The one is earthly and the other heavenly.  What the Jews did in sacrifices and rituals no longer applies to believers today because we recognise that Christ’s substitutionary sacrifice on the Cross makes sacrifices, rituals and legalism obsolete. 

The following questions should be asked when reading the Bible:

What is the passage saying?
Why was it written?
Who wrote the passage?
To whom is it written?
How can I respond to its meaning in my life today?

I hope you’ll enjoy reading your Bible – Rightly Divided.  

- 29 May 2016
Download (PDF) 675.38 KB
Sun, 29 May 2016
(PDF) 675.38 KB
Sun, 22 May 2016
(PDF) 754.32 KB
Sun, 15 May 2016
(PDF) 815.34 KB
Sun, 8 May 2016
(PDF) 1.19 MB
Sun, 1 May 2016
Sun, 24 Apr 2016
(PDF) 824.57 KB
Sun, 10 Apr 2016
(PDF) 738.73 KB
Sun, 3 Apr 2016
(PDF) 804.02 KB
Sun, 27 Mar 2016
(PDF) 537.7 KB
Sun, 20 Mar 2016
(PDF) 795.45 KB
Sun, 13 Mar 2016
(PDF) 927.25 KB
Sun, 6 Mar 2016
(PDF) 600.37 KB
Sun, 28 Feb 2016
(PDF) 414.89 KB
Sun, 21 Feb 2016
(PDF) 391.79 KB
Sun, 7 Feb 2016
(PDF) 466.54 KB

Subscribe to Our Daily Devotional

Name and Valid Email Adress required!